Turning Fifty Two– Part Two


If you missed part one of my Dad’s birthday celebrations you can catch it here. On Wednesday it was Dad’s Birthday and we all had a really lovely time enjoying his day. It definitely helped that the weather was gorgeous, we actually had blue skies and beaming sunshine which made a lovely change from what we have been used to the last week or so: rain, rain rain.

DSCN5714

Our dining room received yet another make over this week, from union jacks for our jubilee BBQ to Birthday decorations! Well it is the Birthday period for us in the next couple of weeks – got to make the most of it!

DSCN5688

While everyone was out on Tuesday I secretly decorated the dining room with Happy Birthday flags, banners and napkins to surprise my Dad when he got home.

DSCN5694

DSCN5687

DSCN5686

DSCN5696

DSCN5686

Dad loved his little early birthday surprise! 

DSCN5699

Luckily though, the weather was so nice we didn’t have to spend a lot of time indoors on Wednesday. We had coffee and lunch in the garden at home before we took a trio to the coast.

DSCN5704

I’m going to have to think up what I’m going to do for my birthday after this as I had originally liked to take a trip to the seaside but I don’t want to look like a copy cat Winking smile

DSCN5716

It was early afternoon by the time we got to Whitstable and so the four of us were ready for a walk around. We started at the fish market by the harbour where all of the new sights and smells were driving puggy nuts! Lots of pulling on her harness ensued,hence why I am picking her up in the following pictures.

DSCN5717

Birthday boy, pug and myself in the harbour at the start of our walk.

DSCN5719

Someone didn’t want her picture taken by the looks of things!

DSCN5720

But Polly couldn’t keep up that act for very long because she was quickly posing for a close up over my shoulder a couple of minutes later. Look at that adorable face! Ignore me looking like a proud parent, but anyone would if they had a puppy this gorgeous, right?

DSCN5722

Pug pose!

DSCN5728

DSCN5725

Back to our pleasant walk along the seafront. I adore the smells and sights at the coast a bit like Polly seems to.

DSCN5729

DSCN5730

Everything looks so much prettier and summery when the sun is out and the sky is blue!

DSCN5740DSCN5732

Our walk took us briefly along the high street.

DSCN5737DSCN5738

Until eventually we turned around to head back for the harbour where we stopped for coffee at The Harbour Garden Cafe. We only had drinks but it was such a great location to stop at even just briefly like we did. I’ve been going to Whitstable all of my life and I didn’t even know this place existed until Wednesday. If someone would have asked me I would have guessed it had only been around for a little while but according to the website its been going since 2007!

DSCN5742

The location sings out seaside charm, boasting this view:

DSCN5745

Which we enjoyed with the addition of a delicious cup of coffee.

DSCN5750

Latte for me, cappuccino for mum,

DSCN5758

and beer for the Birthday boy.

DSCN5749

We were all really glad that we chose this cafe to stop at, not only was I impressed with the view and good cup of coffee, I also loved the decor – red and white tablecloths are such a winner in my eyes. Definitely got a soft spot for any cafe with a red and white tablecloth!

DSCN5741

Polly really behaved herself while we stopped as Mum and I played pass the pug – we both wanted her on our lap!

DSCN5744DSCN5755

I think I managed to hold on to her for longest though. I am her mummy after all Open-mouthed smile

DSCN5760

Local readers: definitely check out The Harbour Garden cafe this summer if you happen to be in the Whitstable area one day!

DSCN5751

After our gap for refreshments we meandered back to the car as the time was quickly getting on and we had dinner arrangements later.

_____________________________________________________________

We all smarted ourselves up a tad and made our way down to the local where we met Grandma and Pops and Gary!

DSCN5763DSCN5762

I ordered the veggie lasagne. I’ve had it before here and it was really satisfying, naturally I expected the same again, but it was a tiny bit disappointing and I couldn’t quite put my finger on the reason why.

DSCN5767

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it but not as much as I thought I would! Maybe that’s why I was disappointed. Who knows? Everyone else enjoyed their tasty meals for Dad’s birthday so that was the main thing Red heart

I LOVE June. I LOVE birthdays! Glad we made my Dad’s day enjoyable for him! And speaking of days dedicated to our Dads … Fathers Day tomorrow! x

Leave a Reply

