Forward Planning


If you know me, you know that I love nothing more than a spot of planning. I love a mini-project to organise. And now that I’m a plot holder on the allotment, I might have a slightly bigger project on my hands than I had anticipated. But that’s all part of the challenge surely? My grandpop was asking me the other day where I was going to plant something, and the realisation hit me that I haven’t got a clue what I’m going to do with my plot yet. So over the weekend mum and I had a good think about where we thought every thing should go. There is a lot of space to sort out you know!

DSCN9356

We already made some good progress in just our first week, you can see the difference that the rotovator makes from the two pictures  above and below here. We considered the use of space across the plot and what would be best where. I have a number of ideas in my head for the plot.

DSCN9590

Here are a few of my main ideas:
* To have a vegetable patch where I could grow courgette, pumpkin, butternut squash and so on.
* To have a selection of flowers growing too because I absolutely loved all of the sweet peas my grandma kept bringing me from her allotment last summer.
* To have an area where all of the family could gather to drink coffee, eat lunch or cool down.

DSCN9673

So I drew up a rough idea of my plan. Here’s the part where you find out just what a terrible artist I am. I think photography is the only artistic bone I have in my body.

DSCN9673-1

Anyway, dodgy drawings aside – here is a quick breakdown of my plan:
*
I decided that the bottom half would be most ideal for an area to gather because it is nearest to my grandparent’s plot and my own family’s plot. What I thought would be really nice was to eventually get this area paved too.
* So in that case the top of the plot is going to be dedicated to the veggie patch, vegetables are large and take up a lot of room so I figured that they would be best in their own large area.
* This leaves room for flowers and other bits at the bottom next to the paved area. I thought that it would be nice to have all the pretty flowers growing near the area where we gather so we could see them all.

I’m glad that I’ve got a bit of an idea now to get me started! But before I can do anything, I have the task of getting rid of all the big stones off the plot! This rubbish weather has done nothing but put Spring on my brain.. Time to get started.

Leave a Reply

