A Present That Keeps On Giving


While I received many lovely Christmas presents this year, one particularly stood out for me.

It was actually the first present I opened because I empty my stockings first and my Mum popped a card in one. All summer long I was hankering after taking a trip to the zoo, saying “Oh we must try and go to the zoo this year!” on numerous occasions to my mum. But my granddad began to get seriously poorly during the summer months and looking after him became a priority which meant things like trips to the zoo were overlooked for another time.

Funnily enough with all the stress over the last few months I had completely forgotten about my little desire to make a trip to the zoo. But then the other week I saw on the news about the Panda’s in Edinburgh zoo and it reminded me all over again, however it was still a lovely surprise when I opened a card from my Mum telling me that she was treating us to a trip to the zoo Open-mouthed smile

DSCN7743

A day spend with my favourite people looking at lots of interesting wild animals? I’m in!

DSCN7750

When I was little we used to go to Howletts zoo lots,  we haven’t been for over a decade now, yet when we drove up in the car park I recognised it all! It was strangely familiar and brought back a nice memories. We were also surprised at how busy the park was today, lots of cars and people considering it was a wintery day.

DSCN7752

As our Christmas treat my Mum got us all a passport which is a couple of pounds more than a standard ticket and means that you can visit for the whole year! More trips to the zoo in the next year!

DSCN7754

DSCN7758

Towards the start there were some tigers which were really close to the bars so you could fully acknowledge just how huge animals they are, their paws were massive!

DSCN7799

I think they are really handsome looking creatures.

DSCN7765

DSCN7766

DSCN7772

I noticed these little creatures and they reminded me of guinea pigs because of the shape of them.

DSCN7773

DSCN7775

How sweet!

DSCN7776-1

DSCN7778

The sign said they were called capybara and that they do belong to the guinea pig family. I thought that they were cute little things..

DSCN7783

DSCN7784

DSCN7795

DSCN7804

DSCN7805

DSCN7808

DSCN7813

We took some lunch round with us and stopped off on some picnic tables to eat our rolls.

DSCN7815

DSCN7817

DSCN7818

After lunch it was back to more walking and looking at all the animals.

We did see some real elephants but they were really far away and I didn’t get a decent picture. Sadly this was the best picture I got of anything elephant related.

DSCN7822

DSCN7826

DSCN7859

DSCN7860

DSCN7862

DSCN7867

DSCN7872

DSCN7875

I also got this video of some monkeys playing.

I had a really good day, and it was a lovely present to receive for Christmas especially as I got to share the experience with the parents and boyfriend. Plus we can go and enjoy it as much as we want for a whole year Smile

We came home to a cold house so Gary and I crashed on the sofa with a blanket and hot chocolate. It was the perfect way to round up the day out.

DSCN7903

What presents stood out for you this Christmas?

Leave a Reply

