In Each Lovely Thing


Its a sad fact that life must come to an end one day. For my Granddad, this day was on the 5th Novemberand today was his funeral. It was a strangely moving day. I thought that I was going to feel sad and upset but it was actually all quite touching. Everything went smoothly and it was exactly the send off my Granddad deserved. The only thing that could have been better was a little bit of sunshine to cheer the day up a little bit. It was damp and misty all day long, but thankfully it wasn’t too cold.

DSCN6629

We arrived at my Nan’s house around half past 10 this morning as the Hurst was due to pick us up at 11.When we got there some of my Dad’s family were already there to be with my Nan, we don’t really see this side of the family too often so we all exchanged some brief greetings before we were due to set off.

The funeral cars arrived on time at 11 and suddenly it seemed so surreal. As the cars dove down the close I saw the coffin for the first time and it looked beautiful. To be honest, the whole procession was very touching and well done. I thought that the undertakers were professional and thoughtful. The journey was slow and silent. My nan was tearful most of the ride to the crematorium.

DSCN6630

As we drove into the crematorium I think that we were all a little taken back by the sea of people dressed in black to say goodbye to my Granddad. Over a hundred people showed up! It was quite moving to be sitting in the car as it pulled up and see everyone there to support us.

DSCN6632

The eulogy was simple yet lovely, listening to all the beautiful words made me quite emotional and this poem in particular stood out to me, I find it is so comforting:

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am in a thousand winds that blow,
I am the softly falling snow.
I am the gentle showers of rain,
I am the fields of ripening grain.
I am in the morning hush,
I am in the graceful rush
Of beautiful birds in circling flight,
I am the starshine of the night.
I am in the flowers that bloom,
I am in a quiet room.
I am in the birds that sing,
I am in each lovely thing.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there. I do not die.

___________________________________________________________________

DSCN6631

Afterwards everyone gathered outside briefly before heading back to the Wake. About half the people came back for the wake and it was really nice to see people gather in memory of Bill. It made me feel warm and content.

DSCN6637

DSCN6638

DSCN6644

There was a lovely spread of buffet food for everyone. I ate some cheese sandwiches, cocktail sausages, breaded mushrooms, and a handful of biscuits.

DSCN6633

We also set up a table with some flowers and displays with pictures of my granddad for people to look at. Lots of people had a little look so I think it went down well Smile

DSCN6640-1

Since my Granddad has been unwell this year I have been using his camera because he was unable to use it anymore. I know how much my granddad loved technology, gadgets and pictures. I think some of this may have rubbed off on me. But today I had a thought: through his camera I want to capture bits of my life and I like to think that through this lens my granddad is able to see us still.

DSCN6656

I promise to make him proud.

DSCN6646

You will be sadly missed by many x

Leave a Reply

