Taking Baby Steps In The Kitchen


Recently I’ve been trying to get myself in the kitchen more often to cook. I enjoy cooking but I just don’t do it enough but I’m getting to the stage where I’m thinking, I’m 19 years old and my speciality is toast! Yes I am embarrassed to admit that, especially because I love my food so much.

DSCN5269

So the best place to learn how to cook is obviously, in the kitchen. A few weeks ago I cooked dinnerfor the first time, I made a cheese and broccoli pasta bake which went well. I’ve made it once again since too! I’ve also made some homemade soup which has been good fun. Making soup is quite easy so I think its a good place for me to start. Its time consuming in the sense of cutting up vegetables, but the more often I do it the better I’ll become and the quicker I’ll get it done!

On Friday, Mum and I threw together this recipe for a creamy tomato soup, which I then made by myself.

Creamy Tomato Soup:
10g Butter
1 Tablespoon flour
1 Pint milk
1 Can of tomatoes
1 Onion (small)
1 Garlic clove
1 Celery stick
A pinch of salt and pepper

DSCN5263

I began by preparing all the vegetables. I finely chopped the onion, followed by the clove of garlic and then the celery stick. The can of tomatoes were already chopped so I didn’t need to worry about those.

DSCN5262

In a separate jug I got the creamy sauce ready (a tip I learned from my mum.) I slowly added the pint of milk bit by bit to the tablespoon of flour and stirred frequently. This way it avoids the sauce going all lumpy and ruining.

DSCN5272

Next up, I turned the heat up high on the stove and put the butter in the pan to melt. Once melted I added the onion. I allowed the onion to cook in with the butter before including the garlic and celery. I stirred the vegetables before carefully pouring the can of tomatoes in. I was using a medium heat by this point.

DSCN5266

Making sure the vegetables were all stirred in together, the following step was to add the creamy sauce to the soup. The most important part to this step was to keep on stirring to minimise the chances of lumps forming. I added the salt and pepper at this point. I kept on stirring until the soup had thickened and looked ready.

DSCN5275

Finally it resembled soup Open-mouthed smile

DSCN5278

I was pleased with my efforts!

The Final Product: (Served with brown bread)

DSCN5284

What I liked about it:

I liked the fact the soup was creamy and satisfying. I only had a small bowl but it filled me up. I also liked the texture of the soup, it had bits in it from the vegetables and for me bits always makes soup nicer. I find smooth soup really boring to eat.

DSCN5285

What I disliked about it:

I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, but one of the ingredients (either the onion or garlic) kind of overwhelmed the flavour of the soup. For me the main flavour I want to taste from tomato soup is the tomato. However this tasted more like a tomato and onion soup or something. I still think this is nicer than a can of soup but next time I may try removing one of the ingredients and see what the outcome is.

Have you tried any new recipes recently? x

Leave a Reply

