Starting Sunday Off On A Sweet Note


Literally and metaphorically! Literally sweet as my grandparents bought me some Sweet Peas from their allotment. I adore Sweet Peas.

DSCN4220

I think I had the perfect start to the day yesterday.

DSCN4168

Holy Strawberries Open-mouthed smile Look at my breakfast! It looked and tasted wonderful.

1 Weetabix, 3 large strawberries cut up, semi-skinned milk and a dusting of Canderal on top. What a summery treat!

DSCN4170

Then around 11 o clock I went to the park for a jog. It was so good.

photo (1)photo (2)

The park was practically empty, minus the odd doggy walker so I had the park to myself, oh and my Dad who came with me too! The temperature was just right. Not too hot, not too cold. It felt good to have the breeze gushing in my face as I was going along. Dad said the wind took his breath away and he couldn’t keep up, but I think the wind kept my energy up and pushed me through. I felt fitter already, just six days after I first started jogging again at the start of the week.

photo

Definitely such an awesome way to start my Sunday morning. I find running so relaxing lately. There’s a sense of freedom going out the house without any makeup on too. One of the things I can’t stand is seeing girls covered in makeup when they’re exercising. Just why?

I came home a very happy gal. And then, if that wasn’t enough, my Mum made me this:

DSCN4174

This was one intense bacon sandwich. The bread was perfectly soft, the bacon warm yet full of flavour and the ketchup oozed indulgence. I think it was made in heaven. This is what Sundays are made for. Relaxing and eating delicious food. DSCN4176

DSCN4190

__________________________________________________________________________

In the afternoon we had to go out to Dad’s parents. At the moment my poor old man has to go and see my grandparents every single day to make sure my Nan isn’t over-dosing my Granddad on his Parkinson’s pills. She has dementia. This was not a sweet part of the day believe me. Her memory is really bad at the moment and lately she’s been getting frustrated and aggressive with us. We’re only helping them though. I felt really awkward and sad. But at the end of the day all you can think is that we’re doing our best and we’re only helping which is what matters.

To cheer us back up again in the evening my Mum made a beautiful curry feast for us and invited her parents too. I need to find an easy way of describing what set of grandparents I’m talking about in my life. Maybe I should define them as Normal Grandparents versus Crazy Grandparents. That doesn’t really sound very politically correct though, calling my Nan with dementia crazy. Even though you really feel like calling her a crazy old woman *sigh* why did it happen to them? Sad smile

DSCN4209

DSCN4214

Two curries in one weekend? Why Not.

DSCN4217

I piled all of the good stuff onto my plate and it eventually ended up looking like a mountain of onion bhajis and samosas.. 

I actually loved my weekend off. It was so nice to be home and enjoying life in the best company. It was exactly what I needed before my big week.

Tomorrow I go away on my course for work. I’ve had a stressful day to say the least today, and I’m not going into details but basically I’m looking forward to getting tomorrow morning out of the way. Mum’s driving up with me and dropping me off, she’ll pick me up again on Friday. I’m feeling nervous at the moment and a bit worried I’m going to be lonely on my own. All I can do is give it my best – which is what I always do.

I’m going to be so homesick even if I’m only gone for 4 days! I know I’m going to miss my Mum and Dad and especially my baby who’s been brilliant today. See you at the end of the week!

Leave a Reply

