A Golden Couple


DSCN2194

A Golden Couple

Half a century ago, they say,
A wonderful marriage began that day.
Two beautiful people joined as one,
And worked together to make living fun.

We celebrate now those fifty years;
We raise our glass and give three cheers:
To partners in life in both work and play,
It’s our pleasure to share your golden day.

Happy 50th Anniversary! By Karl Fuchs (Source.)

Yesterday my grandparents celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. To mark the occasion they held a dinner party at The Rose Inn and we had a very lovely evening! It was a big old family event.

DSCN2024

In the build up to their anniversary, I have been busy gathering party accessories and we purchased a beautiful present for them.

DSCN2049

DSCN2039DSCN2038

DSCN1446

DSCN1449

How special is that? Smile

DSCN2063cropDSCN2064crop

DSCN2066

Before Pictures.

We all arranged to meet at 6 as we were sitting down at our table at 6.30. We all arrived on time minus my Mum’s youngest sister who got lost and ended up being a tad late. But the weather was pleasant enough with some sunshine but a little breeze, so we ended up waiting for her in the beer garden which was still enjoyable.

DSCN2076

Present Opening.

DSCN2081DSCN2077

DSCN2087

DSCN2088

DSCN2089cropDSCN2090crop

My Aunt Chantelle with her grandson Harvey.

DSCN2092 rop

My Grandma with her great-grandson. Harvey got loads of attention last night Open-mouthed smile

crooDSCN2104

DSCN2099

DSCN2101

DSCN2107

Once my aunt and her family finally found their way to the pub, we all went to our table. My grandparents arrived earlier than everyone else to prepare the venue however the landlady wouldn’t let them help and set it all up herself. She did a marvellous job! It looked beautiful.

DSCN2110

DSCN2112

DSCN2168

DSCN2145

DSCN2124

DSCN2153

DSCN2127

We all found our way to our seats with the help of name cards and soon everybody was settled down in their places ready to eat!

DSCN2117

The Golden Couple located proudly at the head of the table.

DSCN2119crop

DSCN2122

My cousin Tasha with her baby Harvey.

DSCN2136

Lovely family picture Smile

DSCN2128

My cousin Beth.

DSCN2137crop

DSCN2150

Time to eat!

DSCN2151

I ordered the lasagne which was delicious and rich in flavour, the garlic bread had a wonderfully crunchy texture and the salad was also tasty – all round top notch meal.

DSCN2156

I was pretty starving and ravished the whole plate up. I don’t mess around!

DSCN2155

Gary’s steak.

DSCN2160DSCN2161

After dinner I looked at my grandparents wedding album.

DSCN2192

DSCN2166

The pictures are lovely and everybody looks so young. Well I guess they would, the pictures are 50 years old Winking smile

DSCN2173

DSCN2178

I think that everybody enjoyed taking a look at the pictures!

DSCN2190DSCN2189

Me with two of my favourite people Smile

DSCN2200DSCN2201

DSCN2204

DSCN2206

A little while after dinner settled down, the dessert menu arrived on the table and we all chose what we wanted to have. Gary and I ordered ice cream, where you can pick and mix whatever 3 flavour scoops you wish. We both picked two scoops of caramel honeycomb and one scoop of vanilla.

DSCN2261

By coincidence there were some Morris dancers performing last night in the little village square, they began at 8pm so while we waited for our desserts we all went out the front to watch them perform. They were very funny and quirky.

 

DSCN2229

The Morris dancers provided a lot of entertainment and giggles. But baby Harvey wasn’t sure what to make of it all, so he played happily with one of the balloons.

DSCN2272DSCN2276

DSCN2246

DSCN2290

DSCN2293DSCN2302crop

We watched the Morris dancers until around 9pm then we headed back to our table around the back of the building to enjoy dessert!

DSCN2313

Mum’s mango pavlova above, which I tried a mouthful of and it was absolutely delectable. So soft and light!

DSCN2316

And my dessert. I love ice cream, and this was so lovely. The caramel scoops were rich and delicious and the vanilla was ever so creamy. I heart dessert. Open-mouthed smile

Finally, our lovely evening concluded with a small toast made by my granddad. By this point I think the drink had began to make an effect on him so he was fairly amusing in his toast:

 

I had such a lovely evening celebrating my grandparents 50th wedding anniversary, and I’m sure that they enjoyed themselves too. It was a perfect way to mark their special occasion. Smile

Leave a Reply

