Hot And Cold


Monday.

This is what my knee seems to be doing a lot lately, blowing hot and cold.

Last week I wrote about patience paying off and how my knee seems to be on the mend. Although I still think that its improved considerably, I keep seeing little signs to remind me it isn’t 100% yet. Sad smile

I ran a mile last week totally pain free which was a good sign that my knees improving. I continued to take it easy on my knee my lowering the amount of cardio I did that week so my knee could get as much rest as possible.

However on Thursday I did 30 minutes spinning, and for the last 5 minutes I really pushed myself. Friday morning when I went shopping, we parked the car in a spot about 5 minutes away from the high street and part of the walk to the high street included going down a steep hill. I was upset when I felt my knee beginning to tingle and feel slightly aggravated. I’m unsure whether it was the 5 minutes pushing myself on the bikes Thursday or walking down the steep hill Friday, or even a combination of both which made my knee play up again.

It hasn’t been as bad as it was originally which is the only good thing about it all. I rested over the weekend and then today at the gym I did a routine of running for 2 minutes, walking for 2 minutes etc for about 20 minutes, but towards the end I decided to stop as I could feel my knee was beginning to get less comfortable.

DSCN1440

I got home and iced my knee. I’ve read on loads of blogs how runners use icing afterwards, and I can see why. Icing my knee felt really good! I hope this new tip I’ve picked up works for me Smile. I iced my knee for 15 minutes while sipping on a hot coffee.

DSCN1442

Hot and cold. Winking smile

After I finished off icing, I fixed myself some lunch and then applied some Ibuleve Gel to my knee.

Ibuleve_001

I will keep on persisting – I will run!

I’ve also been spending time to review my workouts over the last two months: In April and the beginning of May I was doing quite a lot of cardio considering my knee has been sore. So while I’m trying to get my knee to its normal standards I am going to lower the amount of cardio I do each week, maximum of 30 minutes cardio, and also I don’t think I should increase the level of the machines too high either.

In addition to this, I’ve also decided to create a weekly plan to stick to:

Weekly_Plan

I really hope that having a weekly plan to stick to will help me stay motivated to achieving my summer body Smile

___________________________________________________

The rain has finally arrived here, and although we could do with it as everything looked a little dry, I miss the sunny days.

DSCN1431

However, I have been finding the rain rather therapeutic the last few days Smile. I love opening my window to listen to the sound of rain pattering on the ground, and also the smell it creates. Its strangely such a summer smell?

Also, I’m working 4 days this week so I don’t mind the weather being a bit more dismal while I’m stuck at work. Winking smile

Do you like the rain?

Leave a Reply

