Patience Pays Off


Tuesday.

I know that I’m not the most patient person in the world. In fact, at times I can be the most impatient person you’ll ever meet. So having a knee injury for almost two months has been hard for me in many ways.

Highlight

I hurt my knee running outdoors for the first time back in April, and I haven’t ran properly since. Not being able to run has been frustrating for me. I’d began to build up my strength and ability to run 3 miles (always on the treadmill) and this was a milestone for me. So of course, having an injured knee has prevented me from carrying on training and I will have to build myself back up to this level again.

I think that the most frustrating thing of all is that, I exercise and run to keep healthy as its good for you. So its annoying that, in trying to be good, my body has ended up feeling pretty crappy and sore Sad smile.

________________________________________________________

But, my knee injury is not the end of the world. Moan over.

Actually, the intention of this post is supposed to be positive – I think, that I’m back in the running game Open-mouthed smile !

DSCN1178

I ran a mile last week, it wasn’t a completely pain-free mile, but it was a mile none the less. I did take a small break (no more than 0.1 mile) in between due to my knee hurting – but it was the most I’d been able to run for ages so I saw this as a sign of improvement.

So,  I considered my next steps very carefully.

I reviewed my workout log for April and the beginning of May, and although I have taken a break from running – I had no other option than to cross train as running was too painful – I haven’t actually given my knees a lot of rest.

Pink room (10)

I therefore decided to take it easy last week at the gym: not attempting to run again but instead doing some gentle cardio and weight lifting. I also focused on doing stomach exercises with the ab roller and working on my hips too. On top of that, I have also taken 4 rest days in the past 10 days. My rest days just so happened to fall into place around the time of my exams, which was an added bonus.

I think that my body really needed those extra days off. Today, still bearing in mind to take it easy on myself, I set the treadmill to 5.5 mph and ran continually for a mile, pain free! Wahoo! I felt strong the entire time and was tempted to continue, but thought better of it. I spent 5 minutes warming down by walking, and then did 15 minutes on the elliptical.

I finished my workout a sweaty, hot, but happy mess! Love the feeling after a good workout! Smile

Having an absence from running has made me value it all the more, so I’m going to go easy for a little while: maintaining a slow, steady speed when running and doing plenty of cross-training!

The improvements in my knee couldn’t have come at a better time either, as my holiday is in 6 weeks today! So it gives me just enough time to work on my holiday body.

_________________________________________________________

As well as preparing my holiday body, I’ve also been sorting out my summer wardrobe this week. I returned the two dresses that I bought on Friday and replaced them with two new ones from Topshop Winking smile

Topshop

Got to take advantage of 20% off, haven’t I?

After my last exam Thursday, I pick up some more hours at work next week which is a good and a bad thing. My shifts are fairly flexible as I’m on a few early shifts which means I can still get to the gym while earning some holiday money Open-mouthed smile .

Let the preparations begin!

Leave a Reply

