Birthday Celebrations


Saturday.

Yesterday was my Grandma’s birthday Smile. I see my Grandma at least once a week and have a good relationship with her and my Grandpop. Sadly, some of my cousins don’t make very much effort with the family, nor with seeing my Grandparents, which I don’t understand. This makes my relationship with them all the more important.

IMG_3335_cake

We celebrated in style with a curry and birthday candles on the cake. Singing ‘Happy Birthday’ with cake and candles is compulsory in our family.

DSC06276DSC06277

There was so much delicious food that, I think I went a little bit OTT with second helpings of rice and bloated my stomach beyond belief. For at least an hour after I’d eaten I was still full and uncomfortable. I definitely will not be eating that much food for a long time, not good.

DSC06279

My 12 year old cousin, Beth, made my Grandma this birthday cake Smile. She is interested in cooking at the moment, which is really lovely. Although I didn’t try any cake (I was still too full up) it looked great and was all eaten up so it must have been tasty!

IMG_3313

IMG_3323_crop

IMG_3325

IMG_3326

The family really goes to town with the traditional sing-song of ‘Happy Birthday’ even the adults get excited by it Winking smile.

IMG_3329_crop

IMG_3333_edit

LOL. Or maybe its just the alcohol that gets the adults excited. Wait, did I just refer to my Dad as an adult? That can’t be right.

IMG_3339

IMG_3341

IMG_3342

IMG_3344

Everyone calmed down a bit when desert was served.

Gary and I headed off shortly after everyone had dessert, to meet his friends as it was one of their birthdays.

Sunday.

After a late night, I slept in and had a lazy morning today. However, I was feeling a little bit guilty after last nights bloated stomach incident and wanted to make myself feel healthier again.

DSC06285

So I dug the skipping rope out and spent 5 minutes doing jump rope. I ignored the voice inside my head saying “skipping sounds so gay.”

Oh my goodness! Skipping must be the best exercise to get your heart rate raised, I was ridiculously exhausted after 5 minutes skipping! It was just what I needed after last nights episode. A short, yet intense blast of movement.

It got me thinking about skipping too, I’ve never really thought about it as a form of serious exercise. So I got on to Google and was surprised with what I saw,

Skipping will help improve cardio-respiratory (heart and lungs) fitness, flexibility and co-ordination. As a high-impact exercise skipping is great for building bones and a good exercise to trim hips, thighs and backsides!

(Source)

In that case; more skipping in the future then!

This week, I have a take-away exam and an essay to finish so its not going to be a lot of fun Sad smile. Got to think positively though, in less than a month it will all be over and I won’t have to go back to that uni again – post on my university experience coming soon.

Have a good week – I will be back in a few days.

Leave a Reply

